Biography

abouthessi-5

Hwang Chiyeol (황치열) is a Korean singer and musician from Gumi, North Gyeongsang Province in South Korea.  Born on December 3, 1982,  and the youngest of three (3) children, he loved dancing and performing and was part of a dance group in his hometown. He  debuted in 2007 with a digital single album which was self titled (Chi yeol) and a second album with the title Five senses. He was also a member of the group Wednesday.

Although very talented, his first stint as a singer was not very successful. He spent his twenties working part-time jobs and taught  in music schools as a vocal coach for a living until late 2014. Some of the K-pop groups he trained include Lovelyz, Infinite, Hello Venus, After School and NU’EST. In 2015, he appeared on a Mnet’s TV program I can see your voice and this programme  earned him a spot on KBS’s music show, Immortal Song 2 which catapulted him into stardom. He is currently competing in Hunan TV’s I  am a singer in China and also a regular cast on MBC’s TV show, I live alone.

 

“I moved up to Seoul from my hometown 10 years ago to make my dream come true. I taught as a vocal coach for a living and haven’t let go of music. I went through a tough patch and so many times I was thinking about giving up but I always kept my small dream of becoming a singer in my heart and I hoped that I would be singing in front of many people someday. Now I want to let many people hear my voice.

“I am Hwang Chi Yeul.”

Source: Wikipedia

8 Comments

  1. Hi~there~ I’m so pleased what you’ve done for int fans of Chiyeul. I really appreciate it. However, some parts of biography are from English Wiki, if you do references, I will far more appropriate it. I did see you do references on photos though. Best regards @abouthessi (insta) @abouthessi_yori (weibo)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Hessi,
    Thanks for checking out the blog. Im glad that you like the content. Also thanks for providing so much info on your Instagram account. it makes it easier for me to find information for the blog. I am still editing the blog and slowly putting in more information and references. I must have skipped that on the Biography page. Thanks for pointing it out. I will add that as soon as I can. Chiyeul has a lot of international fans who speak english (I’m not sure if he is even aware) I hope they can be updated on his current activities through this blog. If you have any information that you would like me to post on Chiyeul let me know, I’d be glad to do so. I hope we can work together :).

    Like

    • Thanks for linking to wiki^^ You are welcome at anytime to cite Wiki as long as you do references. I’m so happy to know about that you are with ‘common sense’. I’m sure Chiyeul definitely would know that he has a lot of Int fans who speak English although he’s recently doing activities mainly in China. When he was in Hong Kong for attending amfAR a few days ago, we saw him say ‘You like it?’ in the video he made. I believe that was for int fans who speak English 😆😆 OK~Let’s keep it up ~!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. You are an angel…….. is so hard to find some information about our dear Hwang Chiyeol (황치열) in other language that i can understand… I hardly speak english but I can understand the most of your blog….my native language is spanish …so I am really thankful for find your blog.. is so complete and now I can be aware on what Hwang Chiyeol is doing ..thank you very very very much…. now I am reading all the content in your blog and I am enchanted… …I hope your admiration for Hwang Chiyeol remains supporting him from his country.. thanks for your effort and for share it with fans from other brothers countries……….

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Hiroshi
  5. Same here.
    I live in UK.
    So happy I found this site.
    Keep it up.
    Huge fan of Hwang Chi Yeol.
    ☺😊😆😇

    Like

  6. Thank you for putting the hard work into this website. Hwang Chiyeul is such an amazing singer. I hope more and more people will hear his songs and recognize his talent 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

